President Search

Cranbrook Educational Community announces the search for its ninth president. After eight years as president, Dominic DiMarco has announced that he will be retiring at the end of the academic year in June 2020. Please click here to read a letter to the Community from President DiMarco on his retirement and a letter from the Search Committee Co-Chairs Dr. Linda H. Gillum and Jamison Williams Faliski. A search committee has been formed, and Cranbrook has retained Isaacson, Miller to assist with identifying and recruiting candidates for President DiMarco’s successor. 

Position Statement
Click here to view the position statement

Click here to apply or submit a nomination 

Updates on the search process will be posted on this webpage as soon as they are available.

We are pleased to share that there was a robust response to the survey conducted in connection with the search for Cranbrook Educational Community’s next president. We would like to express our appreciation to all those who participated. Your thoughtful comments have helped to inform the search process. The search firm consultants found it interesting that survey feedback closely mirrored the thoughts of the Search Committee, specifically articulating the importance of a community-wide shared vision, programmatic excellence and innovation, fundraising, and financial sustainability.

Isaacson, Miller has begun the process of identifying highly qualified candidates. There is an understanding of the significance of this leadership position. With the Board of Trustees’ support, we remain confident that the work of the consultants in conjunction with that of the committee will lead to a successful outcome in the search for Cranbrook’s ninth president.

Thank you again for your input. Please feel free to contact the President’s Office with any additional thoughts or suggestions.

President’s Office Contact
248.645.3100 |

Media Contact
Eric Franchy, PR Manager
President’s Office
Cranbrook Educational Community
248.645.3162 |

Press Release
Cranbrook President Dominic DiMarco Announces Retirement
Tuesday, October 8, 2019

Search Committee
Dr. Linda H. Gillum, Co-Chair
Jamison Williams Faliski, Co-Chair

Click here for the full list of Search Committee members